Introduction

Charlo Airport is located at Charlo, New Brunswick, Canada and serves a large portion of northern New Brunswick and the south shore of Quebec's Gaspé Peninsula. Charlo Airport Commission Inc., the not-for-profit owner and operator of Charlo Airport, is under the direction of a thirteen member volunteer Board of Directors.

On a larger scale, the Charlo Airport Commission views its role as a key facilitator in linking the economic needs and growth opportunities of northeastern New Brunswick with various business activities of the air transportation community. The Commission also believes its role as a catalyst in regional economic development being complementary and concurrent to other regional development programs.

This is made possible through the Commission's direct involvement with transportation, industry contacts and its ability to work effectively as a service provider to both the marketplace and transportation companies.

Charlo Airport features an 1,800 meter (6000 foot) all weather runway capable of accommodating flights ranging from small General Aviation aircraft to corporate and mid sized jets. State-of-the-art navigational aids and bilingual Nav Canada service enable it to be used as an alternate airport by airlines serving other locations on a regular basis during inclement weather conditions.

Its runway length and facilities will allow for further growth in transportation and business development at Charlo Airport. For full operational details, access the Canada Flight Supplement information on this web site.

Background Data

Because of our centralized location, flat terrain and freedom from fog, CHARLO was considered to be a natural site for a regional airport from its earliest days.

The Airport is strategically located to serve communities in North Eastern New Brunswick from Bathurst to Saint-Quentin and the Quebec Coast from Matapedia to Bonaventure.

Charlo Airport is also equipped with a Just Mobility Lift to serve our passengers who require assistance in boarding and deplaning the aircraft.

Introduction

L’Aéroport de Charlo est situé à Charlo (Nouveau-Brunswick) et dessert une bonne partie du nord du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la rive sud de la péninsule gaspésienne, au Québec. La Commission de l’Aéroport de Charlo inc., la société sans but lucratif propriétaire et exploitante de l’Aéroport de Charlo, relève d’un conseil d’administration formé de treize membres bénévoles.

À plus grande échelle, la Commission de l’Aéroport de Charlo définit son rôle comme étant celui d’un intervenant clé pouvant lier les besoins économiques et les occasions de croissance du nord du Nouveau-Brunswick aux diverses activités commerciales dans le secteur du transport aérien. La Commission considère aussi jouer un rôle de catalyseur dans le développement économique régional en venant compléter les autres programmes de développement de même qu’en y participant.

Le tout est rendu possible grâce à l’engagement direct de la Commission auprès de personnes-ressources chez les transporteurs et dans l’industrie, ainsi qu’à sa capacité de travailler efficacement autant dans le marché qu’auprès des transporteurs.

L’Aéroport de Charlo abrite une piste accessible en tout temps, d’une longueur de 1800 mètres (6000 pieds) et pouvant accueillir divers appareils, c.-à-d. de petits aéronefs de l’aviation générale jusqu’à des jets intermédiaires et d’entreprises. Des installations d’aide à la navigation à la fine pointe de même que le service bilingue de NAV Canada font que l’Aéroport de Charlo peut servir d’alternative, lors d’intempéries, aux autres lignes aériennes desservant régulièrement d’autres destinations dans la région.

Sa longueur de piste et ses installations favorisent une croissance éventuelle dans les transports et le développement d’entreprises à l’aéroport. Pour de plus amples détails techniques, reportez-vous au Supplément de vol du Canada sur le présent site Web.

Données contextuelles

Dès les premiers jours, Charlo a été choisi comme emplacement naturel pour y établir un aéroport régional étant donné sa situation géographique centrale, son terrain plat et l’absence de brouillard.

L’aéroport jouit d’un emplacement stratégique pouvant desservir les localités du nord-est du Nouveau-Brunswick, de Bathurst à Saint-Quentin, et du Québec, de Matapédia à Bonaventure.

L’Aéroport de Charlo est aussi doté d’un ascenseur Just Mobility pour les besoins des passagers nécessitant de l’assistance pour monter à bord et descendre.